AMH is an independent media house free from political ties or outside influence. We have four newspapers: The Zimbabwe Independent, a business weekly published every Friday, The Standard, a weekly published every Sunday, and Southern and NewsDay, our daily newspapers. Each has an online edition.

  • Marketing
  • Digital Marketing Manager: tmutambara@alphamedia.co.zw
  • Tel: (04) 771722/3
  • Online Advertising
  • Digital@alphamedia.co.zw
  • Web Development
  • jmanyenyere@alphamedia.co.zw

New date for Zim Community Trailblazers Awards

Speaking to NewsDay Life & Style yesterday, one of the awards organisers Albert Masaka said the November 31 nomination deadline and the venue remained unchanged.

ORGANISERS of the Zim Community Trailblazers Awards have set January 19, 2024, as the new date for the accolades’ next edition.

The awards were initially slated for January 26, 2024, at the Harare International Conference Centre.

Speaking to NewsDay Life & Style yesterday, one of the awards organisers Albert Masaka said the November 31 nomination deadline and the venue remained unchanged.

“Due to unforeseen circumstances, we have been forced to change the initially announced date for the fourth edition of the Zim Community Trailblazers Awards,” he said.

Only Zimbabwean citizens/organisations can enter their work for the awards previously known as the Zim Community News Awards.

“All trailblazing individuals and organisations from our local and diaspora communities are invited to submit entries ... The nominations can be sent via email zctanominations@gmail.com,” Masaka said.

“All entries must be accompanied by the nominee’s profile that must include their justification on why they should be honoured in their chosen category.”

The awards will run under the banner “Promoting a Healthy and Mutually Supportive Community”.

“Last year we focused on honouring our unheralded community heroes who included church leaders and editors in the media sector,” Masaka said.

“This year we have zeroed in on the health and education sectors. This is in line with our inclusive approach that is aimed at recognising and honouring outstanding achievements within our diverse communities.”

Already underway is the awards’ first stage, the Hall of Fame awardees notification process.

“Our Hall of Fame awardees are those who have been doing trailblazing work for over a decade without seeking popularity, but doing it because it is the right thing to do, hence our honour will certainly be a surprise to them,” he said.

“By simply recognising benevolent members of the community, we inspire others to follow in their footsteps and to develop a community-focused mindset. Also, by bringing attention to these distinguished individuals it allows for others to become knowledgeable of whatever issues and problems the awardee is trying to solve. It is through this process that we realise the true value in awards and commendations.”

Some of the individuals set to be honoured are business tycoon Ken Sharpe, prominent local businesswoman and philanthropist Zodwa Mkandla, Trauma Centre owner and medical doctor Vivek Solanki, United States-based Zimbabwean gospel singer Reverend Togarepi Chivaviro, seasoned poet Albert Nyathi and internationally-acclaimed Imbube/Iscathamiya group, Black Umfolosi, yesteryear musician-cum-actor John “Chibhodoro” Muyambo and dancehall singer Freeman.

Old Mutual Zimbabwe, Red Cross Zimbabwe and Zimbabwe Mining Development Company are also set to be honoured for their corporate social responsibility work.

Last year, Alpha Media Holdings (AMH), the largest privately-owned media house in Zimbabwe — which publishes NewsDay, The Standard, Zimbabwe Independent, Southern Eye and operates Heart & Soul Broadcasting Services (HStv) — had its editors and reporters honoured for their contribution in the information industry.

AMH editor-in-chief Kholwani Nyathi, who is also The Standard editor, and Zimbabwe Independent editor Faith Zaba were honoured alongside The Standard chief sub-editor Moses Mugugunyeki, senior reporters Winstone Antonio and Tafadzwa Kachiko as well as Chengeto Chidi from HStv.

Related Topics