AMH is an independent media house free from political ties or outside influence. We have four newspapers: The Zimbabwe Independent, a business weekly published every Friday, The Standard, a weekly published every Sunday, and Southern and NewsDay, our daily newspapers. Each has an online edition.

  • Marketing
  • Digital Marketing Manager: tmutambara@alphamedia.co.zw
  • Tel: (04) 771722/3
  • Online Advertising
  • Digital@alphamedia.co.zw
  • Web Development
  • jmanyenyere@alphamedia.co.zw

DeMbare unveil 25-member anniversary committee

Denford Mutashu

DYNAMOS yesterday unveiled a 25-member committee to spearhead the club’s 60th anniversary celebrations which will be held next year.

Confederation of Zimbabwe Retailers president Denford Mutashu is the chairperson of the committee drawn from a wide section of society, including businesspeople and former football players and administrators.

Notable football people in the committee include former women’s football boss Mavis Gumbo, former Dynamos star Edward Sadomba, Zifa Northern Region Division One committee member Stanslus Nyachowe, former Blue Ribbon FC executive board member Sheunopa Ruwanza and former Zifa general secretary Jonathan Mashingaidze, who currently heads the Dynamos secretariat.

Businesspeople like Colbert Chimedza of 4May, Sekai Peters, Wanisai Mutandwa and Farai Zwizwai are also part of the committee tasked with organising the historic celebrations.

The anniversary celebrations will culminate in an awards night next year.

In taking his oath of office, Mutashu promised that his team will help unlock the inherent commercial opportunities within the football sector so that the club becomes a viable business entity which can financially sustain itself.

“It is more than an honour to be appointed in the 60th anniversary celebration committee that will oversee the historic anniversary celebrations,” Mutashu said at the unveiling ceremony in Harare yesterday.

"I want to assure you that we have all that it takes to make the celebrations very special. We have the requisite experience and expertise to make the anniversary celebrations a unique business case for football in particular and sports in general. The activations that we will unleash shall change the sports landscape."

The committee will have its first meeting early next week to craft a plan of action.

“This plan shall spell out the strategic benchmarks of our assignment. The celebrations in our view should help in redefining the Dynamos Football Club DNA as we believe that at 60, the most decorated club in Zimbabwe should unlock the business potential which has been accumulating since 1962. Beyond the 60th mark, Dynamos should enjoy its mega business share in the football industry. It should lead the way as the flagship team in monetising the numerous commercial properties and general goodwill. Football now is big business and there is no stronger vehicle than the anniversary celebrations that the most followed and supported club in Zimbabwe shall use to grow its business profile."

A launch party for the 60th anniversary will be held this year, according to the organisers.

“The celebrations will see the club take its products and services to every corner of the football family in Zimbabwe and the diaspora. We want to live a mark so that generations to come will sit and look back.”

Football and other sport codes in the country are struggling to make ends meet, and Mutashu said they will be fighting to change that.

“The committee shall mobilise financial and material resources in a transparent manner which resources shall be accounted for in order for us to retain the confidence of the benefactors, service partners and sponsors. No cent will be abused under my watch.”

Dynamos, the biggest sporting entity in the country in terms of sports success and followership, failed to organise the Golden Jubilee celebrations when it turned 50 in 2013.

The club was formed in 1962.

60th anniversary celebrations committee members:

Denford Mutashu, Mavis Gumbo, Ranga Mavhunga, Wanisai Mutandwa, Chris Chimumvuri, Agrippa Sora, Simba Gochera, Sekai Peters, Ray Mutadza, Farai Zwizwai, Godfrey Koti, Sheunopa Ruwanza, Tafadzwa Zaza, Edward Sadomba, Benjamin Munzira, Patrick Fakero, Charles Mukaronda, Chris Mugaga, Alois Burutsa, Stanslus Nyachowe, Spencer Manguwa, Colbert Chimedza, Albert Mavunga, Pascal Kwaramba, Shepherd Mutsai, Jonathan Mashingaidze

Follow us on Twitter @NewsDayZimbabwe

Related Topics